Next Webinar:

IN DEFENSE OF THE FREEDOMS OF THE SELF

with John Beebe, M.D.

January 18th

Starting at:
17h BRT (GMT -3)
21h CET (GMT +1)
20h GMT
3 P.M. EST (GMT -5)

What are the roles of freedom of speech and religion and of fear and desire for democracy?

In 1941, Franklin Roosevelt named freedoms, of speech and religion and from want and fear, as essential to democracy.

The author finds a parallel in Jung’s view that freedom in psychoanalysis is an issue resolved when its complexity is realized.

He sees confusion of personal freedom with the right to restrict the expression of it by others illustrated in the tragic Tulsa Race Massacre, the type of violent irony that Roosevelt’s intuition of a balance of freedoms was devised to transcend.

Franklin Roosevelt’s own connection to Jungian thought through his wife Eleanor’s friendship with Beatrice Hinkle is explored.

John Beebe, M.D.

SUBSCRIPTION

Free, live event*!
Fill out the form below to receive the Webinar link

 
Name *
Email *
 
 

Who is John Beebe, M.D.?

American psychiatrist and Jungian analyst in practice in San Francisco. Beebe was born in Washington, D.C. He received degrees from Harvard College and the University of Chicago medical school. He is a past president of the C. G. Jung Institute of San Francisco, where he is currently on the teaching faculty. He is a Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association.

*January, February and March’s meetings will be free of charge. Starting from the meeting in April, it will be chargem a symbolical value of R$ 20 per lecture and access to it’s recording. Part of the amount collected will be donated to the Museu de Imagens do Inconsciente.

What are Psychosocial Wednesdays?

Every Wednesday evening around half past eight, Sigmund Freud gathered colleagues in the waiting room of his Viennese practice at Berggasse 19 to open the world of psychoanalysis to powerful ideas.

With his Psychological Club, C.G. Jung created a similar place in Zurich where the inner, often lonely work on the soul could find a balance in the exchange with others.

Since 2020, in the form of a digital salon, Psychosocial Wednesday combines the ideas of these two men and provides a space where colleagues from all over the world and different disciplines can exchange their creative works and thoughts among themselves and with a wider audience.

In 2023 the series takes its name by heart and explores the process of individuation and freedom after freedom in the 21st century from a psychosocial perspective.

Once a month, an international scholar will present a theme and later discuss it with the public, in a question and answer session.

Guarantee your participation now!

organised by

supported by

produced by

Cursos
Favoritos
0 items Carrinho
Minha Conta